Wintersong – Michael Monroe’s 8th CD: Celebrate winter, a collection of acoustic vocal/instrumental music inspired by the beauty of the season…featuring: Wintersong, Light of Love and Joni Mitchell’s River…City Pages, “With heartfelt sincerity and a poetic touch in both the lyrics and music, Monroe explores subtle, quiet places that spark the imagination.” By Rick Mason

• Wintersong
• Hibernation
• River (Joni Mitchell)
• Catch The Wind (Donovan)
• Winter Embrace
• Snow Leopard
• Nobody Home
• Solstice Dance
• Light Of Love
• Melting

Please note, online digital services attribute Michael Monroe’s music CDs to a Finnish heavy metal rocker, originally named Matti Fagerholm.  Minnesota’s Michael Monroe Bio



Singer-songwriter Michael Monroe abandoned the Twin Cities music scene in the mid-1990s for the North Shore, a log cabin in the woods, and a solar-powered studio. For his trouble he’s been dubbed an “eco-folkie,” an entirely honorable tag that accurately captures his perspective, nature-inspired tunes, and richly melodic acoustic music. This gig marks the release of his new, seasonally oriented album, Wintersong (MisTree), a collection as warm and full of sparkling light as a roaring fire guarding against an arctic gale. Graced with a dark-toned mellifluous voice, Monroe etches immutable images of north woods winter, interlacing his songs with vivid instrumentals featuring his limpid guitar and scampering flutes, including the haunting “Snow Leopard,” which dances on Mark Anderson’s scintillating percussion. Amidst the originals are a couple of fine covers about different kinds of chilled yearning: Joni Mitchell’s “River” and Donovan’s “Catch the Wind.” With heartfelt sincerity and a poetic touch in both the lyrics and music, Monroe explores subtle, quiet places that spark the imagination. By Rick Mason



Cook County News Herald

This album is nothing short of amazing, and not in a flashy and glitzy way at all. This is a straight-ahead understated acoustic mix of vocals and instrumentals evocative of winter. This is not music to turn your crank, it’s music to quiet your heart.

All too often music is a background soundtrack for what we happen to be doing at the moment. I can’t recommend “Wintersong” for that. This is a sit-down, shut-up- and-listen piece of work. Anything less is not fair to the music or the artist.

His own songs have warm and beautiful lyrics, and the instrumental pairing with Marc Anderson’s percussion on “Snow Leopard” is stunning. The instrumental “Melting” is like icicles dripping in the sun.

By Jay Anderson