Simple Life

Simple Life – Michael Monroe’s 7th CD, Acoustic and Simple…featuring Simple Life and As It Should Be. t

Nominated 2006 “Best Contemporary” Recording from the prestigious JP Folks out of 25000 albums in 81 categories. Its an acoustic collection of tunes inspired by his 11 rustic years hauling wood and water. The music was inspired from his custom Seaton Guitars built on the Gunflint Trail by luthier David Seaton.

• Simple Life
• What I Needed Most
• Calling
• A Case Of You (Joni Mitchell)
• Oneawa
• All Of Me
• From The Trees
• As It Should Be
• Peace Train (Cat Stevens)


• Photo by Jim Brandenburg • CD Graphics by Christopher Bartels
Please note, online digital services attribute Michael Monroe’s music CDs to a Finnish heavy metal rocker, originally named Matti Fagerholm.  Minnesota’s Michael Monroe Bio


Minor 7th

This gorgeous album of acoustic guitar, vocals and flutes is beautiful. Songs vary from the gentle finger-picking in the original title cut, like a laid back Alex de Grassi, to the multi-tracked strummed acoustic guitars on Cat Steven’s “Peace Train.” His rich warm voice sounds a bit like Stevens too. “Calling” is a highlight. He wrote it while at the bottom of the Grand Canyon, capturing the peacefulness of that place. It ends with repeating vocal harmonies intertwined with a low flute, like a chant. The production is warm and clean; it was all done in his solar-powered studio with custom guitars (tenor, baritone and standard acoustic) built by David Seaton. This disc will stay in my CD player a long time. Yours too. © Jamie Anderson